Creating a community on Wednesday evenings

Sophomore relished the opportunity to build community through Ignite at Marquette

Faith at Marquette
2 min readMay 12, 2021
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

By Melanie Lang, sophomore in the College of Health Sciences

Along with meeting new friends and sharing in my faith with others, Ignite at Marquette has given me countless blessings over the past two semesters, and my college experience has changed because of it. One main blessing that Ignite has given me has been the ability to develop and improve my public speaking skills, as well as become comfortable with sharing my faith in front of others.

I feel like I have come a long way as an emcee since the first time I took on the role. I’ve developed confidence, shared my own personally written prayers, and used my stories to lead students to a closer faith with Christ.

Zach Farahany, sophomore in the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences and Lang (left) emcee Ignite

This experience has allowed me to gain confidence not only as a Christian, but also as a future professional in the workplace. Ignite has also allowed me to work together on a team and as a leader to build a welcoming community on Marquette’s campus, which as been essential given the isolation and pandemic over the last year.

The community that we have created is a community that is not only centered around faith, but also a place of support, comfort, and friendship. Together as a team, we have worked hard to center our focus around positivity and open the mind of our attendees to learning different perspectives of faith topics, social justice issues, and fellowship.

Serving on the Ignite team this past year has also allowed me to voice my own opinion on certain topics that I have never opened up about before and has given me the confidence to speak up within other groups on Campus. Being part of the communications team specifically has given me the chance to come up with creative ways to involve others in our weekly talks and activities, making sure to stay engaging and uplifting to all.

Regarding my future career, my experience with Ignite has given me a better understanding of people with all backgrounds and how their faith might contribute to their medical beliefs, which will be important in making future medical decisions as a medical professional.

Looking for a community that helps you ignite your faith? Consider being a part of Ignite, which meets every Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. in the Chapel of the Holy Family. All are welcome to attend at any time.

--

--

Faith at Marquette

Faith at Marquette University | Mission & Ministry, Campus Ministry, and the Faber Center: encouraging Marquette’s pillar and tradition of faith.